State public health department needs new leadership
SPRINGFIELD – The director of Illinois’ public health agency should resign, State Senator Cristina Castro said today, pointing to new information that calls into question his priorities and his ability to lead in a crisis.

Castro (D-Elgin) is urging Illinois Public Health Director Nirav Shah to resign after emails emerged, as reported by WBEZ radio, regarding the Rauner administration’s bungled response to the Legionnaires’ epidemic at the Illinois Veterans Home at Quincy.

Read more ...

Category: Information

IMG 0786ELGIN – State Senator Cristina Castro (D-Elgin) and Representative Anna Moeller (D-Elgin) presented a donation to the Community Crisis Center of Elgin on Feb. 26.

Last December, Castro and Moeller hosted a joint holiday open house and collected $300 in change from guests in attendance. Both legislators wrote matching checks of $350, making the total donation $1,000.

Read more ...

Category: Information

elgin townhall 110217aELGIN – State Senator Cristina Castro (D-Elgin), State Representative Anna Moeller (D-Elgin) and Elgin Mayor David Kaptain will be joining together to hold a town hall meeting on November 2nd. They will be coming together to discuss news from Springfield and have an open dialogue with community members to find out their thoughts on what is happening in our community.

The meeting is being held to give residents the chance to ask Senator Castro, Representative Moeller and Mayor Kaptain questions and to discuss important issues surrounding their communities and state.

Senator Castro believes that town halls are important in order to receive feedback from local residents.

This event is free and open to the public.

What: Town hall
Date: Thursday, November 2
Time: 7 p.m.
Location: Elgin Township Government Building, Lower Level (729 South McLean Blvd., Elgin, IL)

Speakers include:
· State Senator Cristina Castro
· State Representative Anna Moeller
· Elgin Mayor David Kaptain

For more information, call Castro’s office at (847) 214-8864 or visit www.SenatorCristinaCastro.com.

Category: Information

The 22nd District consists of all or part of 10 different communities, located within Cook County and Kane County. On this page, you will find links to the web sites of local governments and community organizations. If you find any problems with these links or you know of additional web sites that should be included, please do not hesitate to contact my office.

Legislative District 22

County websites:
Cook County
Kane County


Municipal websites:
Barrington Hills
East Dundee
Hanover Park
Hoffman Estates
South Elgin


Township websites:
Dundee Township
Elgin Township
Hanover Township
Schaumburg Township



Carpentersville Middle School
deLacey Family Education Center
Dundee-Crown High School
Golfview Elementary School
Lakewood School
Liberty Elementary School
Meadowdale Elementary School
Parkview Elementary School
Perry Elementary School
Sunny Hill Elementary School
Woodland Early Learning Center


Abbott Middle School
Channing Memorial Elementary School
Coleman Elementary School
Country Trails Elementary School
Creekside Elementary School
Elgin High School
Ellis Middle School
Garfield Elementary School
Gifford Street High School
Harriet Gifford Elementary School
Highland Elementary School
Hilltop Elementary School
Huff Preschool
Illinois Park Center for Early Learning
Kimball Middle School
Larkin High School
Larsen Middle School
Lord’s Park Elementary School
Lowrie Elementary School
McKinley Elementary School
Otter Creek Elementary School
Prairie Knolls Middle School
Prairie View Grade School
Sheridan Elementary School
Washington Elementary School


Chambers of Commerce:
Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce
Bartlett Chamber of Commerce
Cook County Chamber of Commerce
Elgin Area Chamber of Commerce
Hanover Park Chamber of Commerce & Industry
Hoffman Estates Chamber of Commerce
Northern Kane County Chamber of Commerce
Schaumburg Business Association
Streamwood Chamber of Commerce


School Districts:
Community Unit School District 300
School District 54
School District Unit 46
Township High School District 211


Community Colleges::
Harper College
Elgin Community College


Hanover Park:
Albert Einstein Elementary School
Anne Fox Elementary School
Greenbrook Elementary School
Hanover Highlands Elementary School
Parkwood Elementary School
Spring Wood Middle School


Hoffman Estates:
Douglas MacArthur Elementary School
Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School
Hoffman Estates High School
John Muir Literacy Academy
Lincoln Elementary School
Neil Armstrong Elementary School
Timber Trails Elementary School


Helen Keller Junior High School
Winston Churchill Elementary School


Canton Middle School
District 211 Academy-South
Glenbrook Elementary School
Hanover Countryside Elementary School
Heritage Elementary School
Oakhill Elementary School
Ridge Circle Elementary School
Streamwood High School
Sunnydale Elementary School
Tefft Middle School

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Herald
Elgin Courier-News


CLTV Chicagoland Television
Fox News Chicago
Chicago Public Radio

Category: Information

More Articles ...

  1. Biography

Small Business Tour

COVID-19 Resources

COVID19 Updates

Follow Sen. Castro


Contact Info

District Office:
The Professional Building
164 Division Street, Suite #102
Elgin, IL 60120
847-214-8864 phone
847-214-8867 facsimile

Springfield Office:
121 D Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
217-782-7746 phone


  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Find Your Legislator